Final Communiqué of the Symposium


Venice, 7 March 1986

Angleterre [French] Bresil [Portuguese] Espagne  [Spanish]  Roumanie [Catalan]  Syrie [Arab]

The participants in the symposium "Science and the Boundaries of Knowledge: the Prologue of our Cultural Past", organized by UNESCO in collaboration with the Giorgio Cini Foundation (Venice, 3-7 March 1986), in a spirit of openmindedness and enquiry concerning today's values, have agreed on the following points:

  1. We are witnessing a very important revolution in the field of science brought about by basic science (in particular by developments in physics and biology), by the upheavals it has wrought in logic, in epistemology and in everyday life through its technological applications. We note at the same time, however, a significant gap between a new world view emerging from the study of natural systems and the values that continue to prevail in philosophy, in the human and social sciences and in the life of modern society, values largely based on mechanistic determinism, positivism, or nihilism. We believe that this discrepancy is harmful and indeed dangerous for the very survival of our species.

  2. Scientific knowledge, on its own internal impetus, has reached the point where it can begin a dialogue with other forms of knowledge. In this sense, and while recognizing the fundamental differences between Science and Tradition, we see them as complementary rather than in contradiction. This new and mutually enriching exchange between science and the different traditions of the world opens the door to a new vision of humanity, and even to a new rationalism, which could lead to a new metaphysical perspective.

  3. While not wishing to attempt a global approach, nor to establish a closed system of thought, nor to invent a new Utopia, we recognize the pressing need for truly transdisciplinary research through a dynamic exchange between the natural sciences, the social sciences, art and tradition. It could be said that this transdisciplinary mode is inherent in our brain through the dynamic interaction of its two hemispheres. Joint investigation of nature and of the imagination, of the universe and of man, might thus bring us closer to reality and enable us better to meet the various challenges of our time.

  4. The conventional way of teaching science by a linear presentation of knowledge masks the divorce between today's science and world views which are outdated. We stress the need for new educational methods to take into account current scientific progress, now coming into harmony with the great cultural traditions, the preservation and in-depth study of which appear essential. UNESCO would be the appropriate organization to promote such ideas.

  5. The challenges of our time - the risk of destruction of our species, the impact of data processing, the implications of genetics, etc. - throw a new light on the social responsibilities of the scientific community, both in the initiation and application of research. Although scientists may have no control over the applications of their own discoveries, they must not remain passive when confronted with the haphazard use of what they have discovered. It is our view that the magnitude of today's challenges requires, on the one hand, a reliable and steady flow of information to the public, and, on the other hand, the establishment of multi- and transdiciplinary mechanisms for the guidance and even the carrying out of decision-making.

  6. We hope that UNESCO will consider this encounter as a starting point and will encourage further reflexion in a spirit of transdisciplinarity and universality.

Participants :

D.A. Akyeampong ( Ghana )

Avishai Margalit ( Israel )

Ubiratan d'Ambrosio ( Brazil )

Yujiro Nakamura ( Japan )

René Berger ( Switzerland )

Basarab Nicolescu ( France )

Nicolo Dallaporta ( Italy )

David Ottoson ( Sweden )

Jean Dausset ( France )
Nobel Prize for Physiology et Medicine

Abdus Salam ( Pakistan )
Nobel Prize for Physics

Maitreyi Devi ( India )

Rupert Sheldrake ( United Kingdom)

Gilbert Durand ( France )

Henry Stapp ( United States of America)

Santiago Genovès ( Mexico )

David Suzuki ( Canada )

Susantha Goonatilake ( Sri Lanka )

Participating Observers : Michel Random (France) and
Jacques Richardson (France - United States of America)

Angleterre [French] Bresil [Portuguese] Espagne [Spanish] Roumanie [Catalan]  Syrie [Arab]

Bulletin Interactif du Centre International de Recherches et Études transdisciplinaires n° 2 - Juin 1994


bulletins suivant

Centre International de Recherches et études Transdisciplinaires - Dernière mise à jour : Samedi, 20 octobre 2012 14:19:02

DÉCLARATION DE VENISE


Communiqué final du Colloque

LA SCIENCE FACE AUX CONFINS DE LA CONNAISSANCE :
LE PROLOGUE DE NOTRE PASSÉ CULTUREL


Venise, 7 mars 1986


Angleterre [Anglais] Bresil [Portugais] Espagne [Espagnol]  Roumanie [Catalan]  Syrie [Arabe]


Les participants au colloque "La science face aux confins de la connaissance : Le prologue de notre passé culturel" organisé par l'UNESCO avec la collaboration de la Fondation Giorgio Cini (Venise, 3-7 mars 1986), animés par un esprit d'ouverture et de questionnement des valeurs de notre temps, sont tombés d'accord sur les points suivants :

  1. Nous sommes témoins d'une très importante révolution dans le domaine de la science, engendrée par la science fondamentale (en particulier, par la physique et la biologie), par le bouleversement qu'elle apporte en logique, en épistémologie et aussi dans la vie de tous les jours à travers les applications technologiques. Mais nous constatons, en même temps, l'existence d'un important décalage entre la nouvelle vision du monde qui émerge de l'étude des systèmes naturels et les valeurs qui prédominent encore en philosophie, dans les sciences de l'homme et dans la vie de la société moderne. Car ces valeurs sont fondées dans une large mesure sur le déterminisme mécaniste, le positivisme ou le nihilisme. Nous ressentons ce décalage comme étant fortement nuisible et porteur de lourdes menaces de destruction de notre espèce.

  2. La connaissance scientifique, de par son propre mouvement interne, est arrivée aux confins où elle peut commencer le dialogue avec d'autres formes de connaissance. Dans ce sens, tout en reconnaissant les différences fondamentales entre la science et la tradition, nous constatons non pas leur opposition mais leur complémentarité. La rencontre inattendue et enrichissante entre la science et les différentes traditions du monde permet de penser à l'apparition d'une vision nouvelle de l'humanité, voire d'un nouveau rationalisme, qui pourrait conduire à une nouvelle perspective métaphysique.

  3. Tout en refusant tout projet globalisant, tout système fermé de pensée, toute nouvelle utopie, nous reconnaissons en même temps l'urgence d'une recherche véritablement transdisciplinaire dans un échange dynamique entre les sciences "exactes", les sciences "humaines", l'art et la tradition. Dans un sens, cette approche transdisciplinaire est inscrite dans notre propre cerveau par l'interaction dynamique entre ses deux hémisphères. L'étude conjointe de la nature et de l'imaginaire, de l'univers et de l'homme, pourrait ainsi mieux nous approcher du réel et nous permettre de mieux faire face aux différents défis de notre époque.

  4. L'enseignement conventionnel de la science par une présentation linéaire des connaissances dissimule la rupture entre la science contemporaine et les visions dépassées du monde. Nous reconnaissons l'urgence de la recherche de nouvelles méthodes d'éducation, qui tiendront compte des avancées de la science qui s'harmonisent maintenant avec les grandes traditions culturelles, dont la préservation et l'étude approfondie paraissent fondamentales. L'UNESCO serait l'organisation appropriée pour promouvoir de telles idées.

  5. Les défis de notre époque - le défi de l'auto-destruction de notre espèce, le défi informatique, le défi génétique, etc. - éclairent d'une manière nouvelle la responsabilité sociale des scientifiques, à la fois dans l'initiative et l'application de la recherche. Si les scientifiques ne peuvent pas décider de l'application de leurs propres découvertes, ils ne doivent pas assister passivement à l'application aveugle de ces découvertes. À notre avis, l'ampleur des défis contemporains demande, d'une part, l'information rigoureuse et permanente de l'opinion publique, et d'autre part, la création d'organes d'orientation et même de décision de nature pluri- et transdisciplinaire.

  6. Nous exprimons l'espoir que l'UNESCO va poursuivre cette initiative, en stimulant une réflexion dirigée vers l'universalité et la transdisciplinarité.


Participants :

D.A. Akyeampong ( Ghana )

Avishai Margalit ( Israël )

Ubiratan d'Ambrosio ( Brésil )

Yujiro Nakamura ( Japon )

René Berger ( Suisse )

Basarab Nicolescu ( France )

Nicolo Dallaporta ( Italie )

David Ottoson ( Suède )

Jean Dausset ( France )
Prix Nobel de Physiologie et Médecine

Abdus Salam ( Pakistan )
Prix Nobel de Physique

Maitreyi Devi ( Inde )

Rupert Sheldrake ( Royaume Uni)

Gilbert Durand ( France )

Henry Stapp ( Etats - Unis d'Amérique )

Santiago Genovès ( Mexique )

David Suzuki ( Canada )

Susantha Goonatilake ( Sri Lanka )


Observateurs intervenants : Michel Random (France) et
Jacques Richardson (France - États-Unis d'Amérique)

Angleterre [Anglais] Bresil [Portugais] Espagne [Espagnol] Roumanie [Catalan]  Syrie [Arabe]


Bulletin Interactif du Centre International de Recherches et Études transdisciplinaires n° 2 - Juin 1994


Accueil


bulletins suivant


Centre International de Recherches et études Transdisciplinaires
http://ciret-transdisciplinarity.org/bulletin/b2c4.php - Dernière mise à jour : Samedi, 20 octobre 2012 11:17:05